By Crash redaction

Yesterday the winner of the LVMH prize was finally revealed after six months of competition. Like each year, there wasn’t just one but two winners (Grand Prix and Prix Special), an exciting piece of news that encourages young designers to take part in the project. The LVMH jury composed of J.W. Anderson, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Clare Waight Keller, Karl Lagerfeld, Humberto Leon and Carol Lim, Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Sidney Toledano have chosen Japanese brand Doublet to be this year’s winner. The house, founded in 2012 by Masayuki Ino and Takashi Murakami, takes inspiration from youth culture and sportswear and celebrates individuality. With the prize, Doublet takes home 300 000 euros and an assurance to be guided and helped through the development of its collections and identity. 

The Prix Special was awarded to Korean brand Rokh which we have talked about in a previous Crash issue. Rok Hwang has received 150 000 euros to take his fashion label a step further and hope to get more exposure and attention. He was praised for his subtly feminine silhouettes and inventive cuts. The LVMH prize has also shone a light on three fashion design students who were given 10 000 euros each and were recruited either at Givenchy, Céline or Louis Vuitton. A nice gesture for future talents to bloom.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This